This Is Why We Lied – Karin Slaughter

McAlpine Lodge seems like the perfect place for Sara and Will to spend their honeymoon. A remote mountain getaway with all the luxurious trappings where nobody can reach them. Except everyone on the mountain seems to be hiding something. Manager, Mercy McAlpine, has threatened to blow the whole thing out of the water and take the entire corrupt family down after years spent playing the doting daughter. Just hours later Will finds her, dying after a vicious attack, but with no shortage of suspects can he get to the bottom of this case.

“This Is Why We Lied” is due to be published by Harper Collins on 20 June and I received an eArc via NetGalley in exchange for this honest review.

Karin Slaughter has become an auto-read author for me and this book shows exactly why.

What we basically have is a locked room mystery, on a mountain where pretty much everyone is hiding something and most of them have motive to want Mercy dead. Slaughter weaves her story with such ease I just couldn’t stop reading every time I picked it up.

It’s very much a case based book. Poor Will and Sara are supposed to be on their honeymoon and end up getting embroiled in the case so there isn’t much going on for them personally in this one. I do always find it interesting when we meet characters from Will’s past so that was good for me.

There are twists galore, not all of which I saw coming, I’m not gonna lie. Slaughter’s writing just has this incredible way of drawing you in and just when you think you’ve figured out what’s going on she throws something else in the mix.

I really felt for Mercy. The more that was revealed about her life, the sadder I felt for her. It’s hard to say too much really without ruining the story.

There’s a lot of great moments between Faith and Will as well. I love their dynamic. Although now I’ve started watching the tv version I have to keep reminding myself that book Faith is very different to TV Faith!

There are a lot of issues covered in this one that could be very triggering for some people. There’s lots of instances of abuse (physical, sexual and emotional) and domestic violence and although Slaughter doesn’t write this in a sensational way and it is handled quite sensitively I would imagine it could still be quite triggering so please be mindful of that.

If you’re a fan of crime thrillers I would highly recommend this. I have no complaints at all and I gave it ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 Star Review, Fiction Reviews 2024, NetGalley, Will Trent Series

Leave a comment