Where Rainbows End – Cecelia Ahern

IMG_3093.JPG

I decided to re-read “Where Rainbows End” before I go to see the film version, “Love Rosie” which is released in cinemas this week. This is the second book by Cecelia Ahern and although I’ve read it before it has been quite some time since I read it.

I really love this book. It is a bit different from most books as it is written as a series of notes, emails and instant messages between the characters so rather than seeing events happening we get the characters’ descriptions of them. Personally, I liked it. It’s almost like you’re spying on the characters and reading their mail.

The characterisation was good. Rosie and Alex, the main characters in the book, were very well written and the relationship between the two of them felt realistic and natural. I also liked the supporting characters, especially Rosie’s friend, Ruby. A couple of times the obstacles in Rosie and Alex’s romantic relationship were a bit frustrating and I just wanted to give them both a slap and tell them to tell each other how they feel!

I galloped through “Where Rainbows End” in a day. The format makes it very easy to read and as soon as I started I fell in love with it all over again and couldn’t stop reading. I’m now hoping that the film lives up to the book!

1 Comment

Filed under Fiction Reviews 2014

One response to “Where Rainbows End – Cecelia Ahern

  1. Pingback: Film Reviews – Gone Girl and Love Rosie | thebookwormery

Leave a comment